Regional Water Planning Councils


The regional water planning councils (Councils) represent regions in Georgia as designated in the water plan and adjusted by approved petition. Each Council consists of individuals appointed by the Governor, Lt. Governor, and Speaker of the House. The Metropolitan North Georgia Regional Water Planning District is a separate water planning entity that will participate in the planning process consistent with the State Water Plan and its enabling legislation.

Georgia Environmental Protection Division (EPD) supports the regional water planning councils, by providing guidance as well as contractors who specialize in water resource planning and working with public stakeholder groups.

The operation of each council is defined in a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) between the council, EPD, and the Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA). These agreements establish how each council conducts its affairs including the procedures for decision-making.

Fore more detailed information on each regional water planning council, visit the individual web sites listed at the top of this page.

Additional Information on the Regional Water Planning Councils

Regional Water Planning Guidance
Regional Water Planning Council Meeting Update

March 13, 2008 Kick Off Meeting
October 16, 2009 Regional Water Planning Council Leadership Conference Call Summary
August 20, 2009 Regional Water Planning Council Leadership Conference Call Summary
July 13, 2009 Regional Water Planning Council Leadership Meeting Conference Call Summary

Coosa - North Georgia Middle Chattahoochee Metro North Georgia Savannah - Upper Ogeechee Upper Flint Middle Ocmulgee Upper Oconee Lower Flint - Ochlockonee Suwannee - Satilla Altamaha Coastal Georgia